Find an Accounting School
116 Degrees from 39 Schools

Online Accounting Degrees by State

0% of users found this page helpful Was this page helpful?
Select a State:

This comprehensive list allows prospective students to view online accounting programs by state and provides an overview of certification and licensing requirements for practicing CPAs in each state. Our list includes close to 400 online colleges, nearly half of which qualify for our affordable tuition rating and 46 of which offer AACSB programmatic accreditation. Online students looking for both affordability and exceptional quality may wish to consider programs at University of South Dakota or Colorado State University-Global, with average annual tuitions of $10,104 and $9,000 respectively.

All prospective students are advised to choose an online accounting program that is accredited by the AACSB or other agency recognized by the US Department of Education or the Council for Higher Education Accreditation. Learn more by visiting our Complete Guide to an Online Accounting Degree.

Looking for an Online Accounting Degree? Search Over 22,000 Online Programs:

Alabama Learn More

Online students aspiring to become certified public accountants must complete a 150-credit bachelor's degree at a regionally accredited college. Of the 150 credits, 33 must be in upper-division accounting courses and three must be in business law. Another 27 credits of business courses are required in areas such as economics, finance, communication, and business ethics. In addition to education requirements, online students must be at least 19 years old and U.S. citizens when they sit for the CPA exam. The exam consists of four parts, each of which requires a passing score of 75 or higher. Once aspiring public accountants pass the CPA exam, they are issued certificates; in order to receive CPA licensure, they must log one year of full-time experience in public accounting or two years of full-time experience in business, government, or teaching college-level accounting courses. While completing the required work experience, prospective CPAs must simultaneously complete 40 hours of continuing professional education. Online students should note that an additional 40 hours of continuing professional education must be completed each year before September 30 in order to maintain licensure.

Back to Top

Alaska Learn More

In order to work as certified public accountants in Alaska, online students must complete a 150-credit bachelor's degree. The course of study must include 24 accounting credits, three business law credits, three economics credits, and three math or computer science credits. To take the CPA exam, students must be at least 19 years old and have a social security number. Work experience is also required and is based on a point system, which awards different point values for work in public, private, and government accounting. Online students who have earned a bachelor's degree with an accounting concentration must achieve four experience points, while those who do not have an accounting concentration must earn six points. All candidates must also have 500 hours of attestation experience under a CPA's supervision. To renew a CPA license, accountants must complete 80 continuing professional education hours every two years, with a minimum of 20 hours completed annually.

Back to Top

Arizona Learn More

To become certified public accountants in Arizona, online students must complete a 150-credit bachelor's degree. Accounting courses must comprise at least 36 of those credits, with 30 credits being upper division courses. After completing their bachelor's degrees, students ages 18 and older who have social security numbers can sit for the CPA exam. In addition to passing the four-section exam, online students must pass the American Institute of CPAs' ethics exam. Before obtaining a license, candidates must work at least 2,000 hours under the supervision of a licensed CPA. Online students should note that Arizona CPA licenses must be renewed every two years, with an accompanying 80 hours of continuing professional education. Half of those hours must be in accounting, auditing, taxation, business law, or management advisory. An additional four hours of ethics courses are also required.

Back to Top

Arkansas Learn More

Online students aspiring to become certified public accountants in Arkansas must complete a 150-credit bachelor's degrees before they are eligible to sit for the CPA exam. They must take 30 undergraduate-level credits and 20 graduate-level credits in accounting, or a combination of both. Additionally, they must pass all accounting courses with a grade of "C" or better. While there are no age, citizenship, or residency requirements, candidates must have valid social security numbers. Online students must also complete one year of work experience—(at least 2,000 hours)—for their CPA licenses to be issued. Licensed CPAs must complete at least 40 hours of continuing professional education in the year prior to the license expiration date, or 120 hours of continuing professional education in the 36 months prior to the expiration date.

Back to Top

California Learn More

To practice as CPAs in California, online students must complete a bachelor's degrees of 150 credits, including 24 credits in non-introductory accounting courses and 24 credits in business courses. The degree must be earned at a nationally or regionally accredited school. In addition to the CPA exam, online students must pass the California Professional Ethics Exam. To obtain a CPA license, a social security number is required, but age, citizenship, and residency are not factors. At least one year of work experience relating to accounting, taxes, or financial advisory is also required. Once a current accounting license has been issued, a CPA must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years. Online students should be aware that each specialty has different continuing education requirements, and aspiring CPAs should do additional research on the requirements for the specific license they wish to obtain.

Back to Top

Colorado Learn More

Online students looking to become CPAs in Colorado must complete either a master's degree or a bachelor's degree of 120 credits as well as an additional 30 credits. At least 27 of those credits must be in upper-division accounting courses and include an auditing course. Business courses are also an important part of the degree. A social security number is required to become a CPA, as is a passing score on both the CPA exam and the AICPA ethics exam, but age and citizenship are not factors. Before applying for licensure, online students must also complete one year of work experience under the supervision of a licensed CPA. The work experience can be in public accounting, government accounting, or academia. Online students should note that Colorado CPAs must complete 10 hours of continuing professional education for every quarter of the year that they are active. Up to 16 hours may be in personal development, but other hours must be taken in subjects such as auditing, behavioral ethics, management advisory services, and human resources.

Back to Top

Connecticut Learn More

To become certified public accountants in Connecticut, online students must earn a bachelor's degree with at least 150 credits, 60 of which are in general education. The degree must include 36 credits of accounting courses, including the introductory courses, as well as another 30 credits in either business administration or economics. Review courses for the CPA exam can be included for additional credits, as long as the degree-granting college accepts them. Before taking the CPA exam, online students will need to provide a valid social security number. To obtain licensure, students must pass the AICPA ethics exam as well as the CPA exam, followed by two years of work experience in public, government, or industry accounting. It can be in the form of a paid or for-credit internship. Connecticut offers various accounting credentials, including a certificate, a registered certificate, a license, or a firm permit. A CPA must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education each year to maintain any Connecticut accounting license.

Back to Top

Delaware Learn More

To practice as CPAs in Delaware, online accounting students must complete a standard bachelor's degree, in addition to an extra 30 credits; of which 24 must be in accounting. Courses should include auditing, financial accounting, and federal taxation. After online students graduate and pass the CPA exam, they must also take the AICPA ethics exam. An aspiring CPA must also have one year of work experience in an area relating to taxation, consulting, attestation, or financial advisory before the state will issue a license. The employer must be a licensed CPA and be willing to document the prospective CPA's time and activities. Once obtaining a license, CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education over each two-year period.

Back to Top

Florida Learn More

Online students aspiring to become certified public accountants in Florida will need to complete a bachelor's degree of 120 credits plus an additional 30 credits. At least 36 credits must cover taxation, auditing, finance, cost or managerial accounting, and accounting information systems. Online students taking the CPA exam do not need to have attended an accredited school for their bachelor's program as long as they are enrolled in an accredited master's program and have completed at least 15 credits. Applicants for licensure in Florida do not need to complete an ethics exam, but they must have a valid social security number as well as a year of experience in the field verified by a CPA. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education courses, including 20 in accounting and auditing.

Back to Top

Georgia Learn More

Georgia requires all online students to complete 150 credits, including a bachelor's degree, in order to become licensed in accounting. Of these credits, 30 must be in non-elementary level accounting and 24 in business-related classes. 120-credits must be completed by the time a student sits for the CPA exam. There is no additional exam for ethics in Georgia. After passing the CPA exam, online students must complete one year of work experience totaling a minimum of 2,000 hours. Those who have completed all requirements, are 18 years old, and have a valid social security number are eligible to be granted a CPA license. Licensed accountants must complete 80 hours of continuing education every two years to maintain licensure.

Back to Top

Hawaii Learn More

To qualify to become a licensed accountant in Hawaii, online students must earn a bachelor's degree of 120 credits as well as an additional 30 credits. 24 credits must be in upper-division accounting classes and 24 in business-related subjects such as marketing, economics, business law, or globalization. In order to sit for the CPA exam, online students must have already earned their bachelor's degree or be within 120 days of obtaining it. Completion of an additional ethics exam is not required to obtain licensure, although working professionals must complete an ethics course every two years as part of their continuing professional education. Hawaii requires online students who have passed the CPA exam to complete work experience before being granted licensure: either 1,500 hours in auditing at a public accounting firm or two years of full-time experience in a private, governmental, or educational setting. All candidates for licensure must be 18 years old, have a social security number, and prove citizenship. Licensed accountants must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years.

Back to Top

Idaho Learn More

The state of Idaho requires prospective certified public accountants to complete 150 education credits, including a bachelor's degree and 24 additional credits of accounting courses. After completing these requirements and submitting a non-criminal justice history records form, online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam. Once the exam is passed successfully, students must complete one year of work experience (at least 2,000 hours) before they can officially become licensed. They must also be 18 years old, prove residence in Idaho, and have a valid social security number. Licensed CPAs must complete 30 hours of continuing professional education annually to renew their licenses.

Back to Top

Illinois Learn More

While most states require CPAs to complete a bachelor's degree plus some additional courses, the state of Illinois provide prospective accountants with a few different education options. Online students may choose to pursue a graduate degree in accounting, a graduate degree in business, or a bachelor's degree in accounting. The various programs differ in requirements, but all candidates sitting for the CPA exam must have completed one of the approved degrees and a total of 150 credits. Additionally, before applying for licensure, all online students must be at least 18 years old and have completed the AICPA professional ethics exam and a year of supervised work experience. CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years starting after the first renewal in order for the CPA license to remain valid.

Back to Top

Indiana Learn More

In Indiana, online accounting students can choose between getting a bachelor's or a master's degree—plus a few extra courses totaling 150 credits. Either degree program must include courses in accounting, business and tax law, and computer science. After passing the CPA exam (there is no ethics exam in Indiana), students must gain two years of full-time work experience at a public firm, a non-profit, a college, or a government organization. They can combine different types of work experience, but a CPA must confirm their hours. To become licensed, each prospective CPAs must be 18 years old, have a social security number, and have completed the education and work requirements. Licensure must be renewed every three years with the completion of least 120 hours of continuing professional education.

Back to Top

Iowa Learn More

Online students studying to become certified public accountants in Iowa can choose one of several education paths. Although a candidate applying for licensure must complete at least 150 credits, these can be earned as part of either a bachelor's or graduate degree in either accounting or business. An online student already holding a bachelor's degree in another field may still be eligible for licensure as long as he or she has completed 24 credits in accounting and another 24 credits in business. Students who have passed both the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam must spend a year (or 2,000 hours) working in public, private, academic, or governmental accounting and provide a valid social security number before officially becoming licensed. No continuing professional education requirements apply to accountants within the first year of becoming licensed, but 40 hours are required the subsequent year, and 80 in the third. After that, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing education every three years in order to maintain licensure.

Back to Top

Kansas Learn More

To become a certified public accountant in Kansas, an online student must earn a bachelor's degree with at least 150 credits from a school approved by the Kansas Board of Accountancy. The degree must have a concentration in accounting and include 30 credits in theory and practice as well as 42 credits in business and general education. Once a student passes the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam, he or she receives a CPA certificate to facilitate work experience. Kansas requires licensure candidates to complete 2,000 hours of work experience over the course of one to three years, and although supervision is not required, students must verify their hours. After work experience is complete, candidates are eligible to earn a license, known as the CPA permit. Working CPAs are required to complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years in order to maintain the license.

Back to Top

Kentucky Learn More

In Kentucky, online students aspiring to become certified public accountants must complete a bachelor's degree consisting of at least 150 credits. The degree program must include at least 27 credits of accounting classes as well as additional courses in business-related fields such as finance, marketing, economics, management, computers, and business. Since there is no ethics exam required in Kentucky, online students who pass the CPA exam can jump right into a year of required, field-related work experience. Prospective CPAs must verify work hours by submitting a Certificate of Experience form. CPA licensure is available to those who are 18 years old, have a valid social security number, and have completed all education and work requirements. Continuing professional education is required for maintenance of CPA licensure in Kentucky, although the number of hours can vary.

Back to Top

Louisiana Learn More

Online accounting students in Louisiana must complete 150 credits, with a minimum of a bachelor's degree, in order to qualify for CPA licensure. The degree program must include 24 credits in accounting, covering intermediate accounting, cost accounting, income tax accounting, and auditing. Another 24 credits must be completed in business courses such as commercial law in accounting. Online students who have completed all the education requirements are eligible to sit for the CPA exam and once they pass, they can begin their year of required work experience. When the time comes to apply for a CPA license, candidates must submit proof of U.S. citizenship along with a valid social security number and proof of residency within Louisiana for at least 120 days. CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years in order to maintain the license.

Back to Top

Maine Learn More

An online student studying to become a CPA in Maine must complete 150 credits including a 120-credit bachelor's degree. Students must take 15 credits in topics such as taxation, accounting information systems, financial statement analysis, or fraud examination. Online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam within 120 days of graduating the degree program. There is no ethics exam in Maine, but two years of work experience are required. Work experience must include at least 400 hours of review, compilation, and auditing, and 200 hours of advisory services under a licensed CPA. After completing all education and work requirements, candidates with valid social security numbers can obtain a CPA license. CPAs must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education in order to maintain licensure.

Back to Top

Maryland Learn More

In order to become licensed CPAs, online accounting students in Maryland must complete 150 college credits. Of these, 30 must be in accounting and 21 in business, covering corporate or business finance and statistics. Online students who complete the education requirements are eligible to sit the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam, both of which must be passed before licensure will be granted. Prospective CPAs are also required to work in the field for one year. When all requirements have been met, students who are at least 18 years old have a social security number can obtain licensure. CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years to maintain licensure.

Back to Top

Massachusetts Learn More

A bachelor's degree is required for online students aspiring to become certified public accountants in Massachusetts. As part of the necessary 150 credits, students will need to take 30 credits in accounting courses—including management, taxation, auditing, and financial accounting—as well as 24 credits in business courses. Those already holding a graduate degree are eligible for licensure, as long as they meet the credit requirements. Online students who have completed all the education requirements are eligible to sit for the CPA exam, and after passing the exam may begin a year of required work experience (1,000 hours), with no more than 300 hours in full disclosure compilations. Prospective CPAs must be over the age of 18, have a valid social security number, and have completed all educational and work requirements in order to apply for licensure. After obtaining licensure, CPAs must renew their credentials every two years by completing 80 hours of continuing professional education.

Back to Top

Michigan Learn More

In the state of Michigan, online students must complete 150 credits—including a bachelor's or a master's degree—before being eligible to sit the CPA exam. While completing their degrees, they must complete 30 credits in accounting courses as well as another 39 credits in subjects such as finance, management, business law, or taxation. Although Michigan does not require students to pass an ethics exam, prospective CPAs must achieve a passing score on the CPA exam and complete a year of work experience in the field before being eligible for licensure. Once CPAs have earned their credentials, they must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education each year to maintain licensure.

Back to Top

Minnesota Learn More

Online accounting students in Minnesota should check that their university or business school's accounting department is accredited and recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, as education requirements may vary depending on the level of the school's accreditation. Candidates for licensure will need to complete either a bachelor's or master's degree. After completing the education requirements, online students are eligible to sit the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam, after which they must complete 2,000 hours of work experience within one to three years. Prospective CPAs who have completed educational and work requirements, passed both exams, and can provide a valid social security number are eligible for licensure. CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education in order to renew their credentials.

Back to Top

Mississippi Learn More

The state of Mississippi requires online students who are aspiring to become licensed CPAs to complete 150 credits of coursework, including a bachelor's degree with at least 24 credits earned in accounting courses such as taxation, auditing, and non-profit accounting. After completing the education requirements, graduates must pass the CPA exam; there is no ethics exam required in Mississippi. Licensure candidates are also required to complete one year of full-time paid or volunteer work that consist of providing consulting services, preparing tax returns, or creating financial statement reports. Finally, in order to obtain a license, every prospective CPA must have a valid social security number and be a resident of Mississippi. CPAs must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education annually in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Missouri Learn More

Online accounting students studying to become licensed CPAs in Missouri must complete a minimum of a bachelor's degree with 150 credits. At least 33 credits must cover topics related to accounting, such as auditing. Another 27 credits of business classes must also be completed. Missouri requires that students sit the CPA exam within 60 days of finishing their educational requirements. In addition to achieving passing scores on both the CPA exam and ethics exam, online students must complete one year of work experience (or two years if planning to do attest work). In order to obtain licensure, prospective CPAs must be at least 21 years of age and provide a valid social security number. To maintain the license, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years.

Back to Top

Montana Learn More

In the process of earning 150 credits and a simultaneous bachelor's degree, online accounting students looking to gain CPA licensure in Montana must complete 24 credits of upper-division accounting classes and another 24 credits of business-related courses. Students that sit for the CPA exam must also complete the AICPA professional ethics exam. Before granting licensure, the Montana Board of Public Accountants requires each candidate to gain at least one year of real-world experience in the field of accounting. There are no age or residency requirements for accounting licenses in Montana, but CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years to keep the license valid.

Back to Top

Nebraska Learn More

Online students studying to become certified public accountants in Nebraska must earn a bachelor's degree with a minimum of 150 credits including 60 credits of general education courses, 30 credits of accounting courses, and 36 credits of business courses. After completing the education requirements, they are eligible to sit for the CPA exam and AICPA professional ethics exam; to qualify for licensure, prospective CPAs must pass with a minimum score of 90%. The number of years of work experience required varies depending on the candidate's desired accounting specialty. Online students should be aware that every candidate applying for a public accounting license in Nebraska must have a valid social security number and be a resident of the state. After obtaining licensure, CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education to renew their credentials.

Back to Top

Nevada Learn More

To become a CPA in Nevada, an online student must earn a bachelor's degree and complete 150 credits. Of those credits, 30 must be in upper-division accounting courses and 27 in business-related courses, including business law. Once students complete their accounting education, they are eligible to sit for the CPA and AICPA professional ethics exams. Depending on their chosen accounting specialties, either two or four years of work experience are required before candidates can apply for a public accounting license. Every prospective CPA must also have a social security number and show proof of Nevada residency. CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

New Hampshire Learn More

Online students aspiring to become licensed accountants in New Hampshire must complete a bachelor's degree or higher, while making sure they earn at least 150 credits. With 30 accounting and 24 business elective credits required, students can tailor the remainder of the degree to the aspects of accounting that capture their interests. Students who complete these education requirements are eligible to sit the CPA exam, after which they can begin gaining required work experience in public or government accounting. Finally, accountants must provide valid social security numbers to obtain their licenses. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years in order to renew their credentials.

Back to Top

New Jersey Learn More

In New Jersey, online accounting students must complete either a bachelor's or master's degree to become CPAs. The degree must be earned at an accredited college or university and must consist of 24-30 credits in accounting courses and 15-24 credits in business courses. Although online students must complete a total of 150 credits to become licensed, they are eligible to sit for the CPA exam after completing only 120 credits. After passing the accounting exam, prospective CPAs will need to pass an additional exam on New Jersey's code of ethical conduct and complete one year of work experience in public accounting. Candidates for licensure must be at least 18 years old and provide a valid social security number. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

New Mexico Learn More

The New Mexico Public Accountancy Board has its own set of stipulations regarding the agencies qualified to accredit universities, business schools, and accounting degree programs. Online students looking to become licensed accountants in the state must complete a minimum of a 150-credit bachelor's degree through a state-approved program, with 30 credits in accounting courses. Subsequent to completing these education requirements, prospective CPAs must pass both the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam. New Mexico also requires licensure applicants to complete at least one year of paid or volunteer work experience in accounting while being supervised by a licensed CPA (supervisor can be licensed in any state). Once licensed, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years to keep the license active.

Back to Top

New York Learn More

Online students studying to become licensed CPAs in New York state must complete a bachelor's degree and 150 credits. 36 credits must be in accounting, while 30 must be in upper-division courses. Online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam after completing all education requirements. No ethics exam is required in the state of New York. Once prospective CPAs have passed the CPA exam, they must complete a minimum of one year of work experience in public, private, or government accounting or in an educational setting. To apply for licensure, prospective public accountants must be at least 21 years old. Licensed CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

North Carolina Learn More

The state of North Carolina requires its licensed CPAs to complete a bachelor's degree with an emphasis in accounting. Online students must complete a total 150 credits, which may require supplementing the standard bachelor's degree curriculum. Of the 150 credits, 30 must be in undergraduate accounting courses and another 24 must be in related fields such as economics, communications, and law. After completing the education requirements, prospective CPAs must pass both the CPA exam and the North Carolina Rules of Professional Ethics and Conduct exam. In addition, they must gain work experience in the form of either one year under CPA supervision or four years without licensed supervision. A alternate option for completing the work experience requirement is to spend four years teaching accounting in a college setting. Subsequent to completing both education and work requirements, a candidate may apply for licensure, providing he or she is at least 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, and holding a valid social security number. CPAs must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education annually in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

North Dakota Learn More

In order to become a certified public accountant in North Dakota, an online student must complete a bachelor's degree with a concentration in accounting, for a total of 150 credits. The curriculum must include 24 accounting credits and 24 business credits. Online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam once they are within six months of earning their degrees. Students who pass both the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exams must still spend one year working in the accounting field, either in public accounting, government accounting, or industry. When all education and work requirements are complete, prospective CPAs may apply for licensure. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education in auditing, consulting, tax services, bookkeeping, and management to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Ohio Learn More

In the state of Ohio, there are two paths for online students who are aspiring to become certified public accountants: they may choose to complete a minimum of a bachelor's degree with a total of 150 credits, including 30 credits in accounting and 24 in business; alternately, they may complete a 120-credit bachelors degree in addition to achieving a score of 620 or higher on the Graduate Management Admission Test (GMAT). After completing one or other set of education requirements, prospective CPAs must pass the public accountancy exam as well as an Ohio Board of Accountancy course on basic responsibilities. Work experience is also required for licensure, but the amount depends on how much education a student completes prior to sitting the exam. All CPA applicants must be at least 18 years old, have valid social security numbers, and be residents of Ohio in order to apply for licensure. Continuing professional education requirements for licensed CPAs may vary.

Back to Top

Oklahoma Learn More

Online students aspiring to become CPAs in the state of Oklahoma must complete a 150-credit bachelor's degree. At least 76 of these credits must be upper division, with 30 credits in accounting and 9 credits in business. Once students have completed the education requirements, they are eligible to sit for the CPA exam as well as the AICPA professional ethics exam. Subsequent to passing both exams, prospective CPAs must complete one year of work experience before applying for licensure. Experience can be in public accounting, government accounting, industry, or academia. All licensure applicants must be Oklahoma residents, have valid social security numbers, and complete 40 hours of continuing professional education in the year before application. After obtaining licensure, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years in order to maintain credentials.

Back to Top

Oregon Learn More

Online students who wish to work as certified public accountants in Oregon must complete 150 credits and earn a minimum of a bachelor's degree. At least 24 credits must be in accounting and another 24 should be in accounting or a related subject such as business, economics, or finance. After completing education requirements, online students must pass the CPA exam and either the AICPA professional ethics exam or Oregon's own Code of Professional Ethics. Work experience in an accounting-related industry is also required, although specifications are dependent upon specialization. For example, prospective CPAs may choose to gain experience working a field such as attestation or assurance, industry or government businesses, or professional standards, which oversee public accounting professionals. Licensure applicants must submit proof of all completed requirements and a valid social security number. Once licensed, CPAs are required to complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years in order to keep their credentials up to date.

Back to Top

Pennsylvania Learn More

To become a certified public accountant in Pennsylvania, an online student must complete 150 education credits. At least 24 of these credits must be in accounting-related fields such as general accounting, business law, taxation, and auditing. After completing all education requirements, online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam; no ethics exam is required in Pennsylvania. Subsequent to passing the exam, prospective CPAs must complete one year (or 1,600 hours) of work experience in any setting that involves accounting, with the exceptions of self-employment or partnership. Work experience must be verified by a licensed CPA. Once education and work requirements are complete, prospective CPAs can apply for licensure, provided they are at least 18 years old, can provide a valid social security number, and are residents of Pennsylvania. Licensed CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Rhode Island Learn More

Online accounting students studying to become CPAs in Rhode Island must earn a minimum of a bachelor's degree in the field; some graduate degrees are also recognized. Students must complete a total of 150 college credits, including 24 in accounting, and 120 credits must be finished by the time they sit for the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam. After passing both exams, online students will need to complete at least one year of full-time, paid, public accounting experience. In addition to fulfilling all these requirements, applicants for licensure will need to provide proof of residency in Rhode Island and a social security number. Licensed CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years to keep credentials active.

Back to Top

South Carolina Learn More

South Carolina requires prospective CPAs to complete 150 college credits, 36 of which must be in accounting and 36 in business. Of the 36 accounting credits, two-thirds must be upper-division courses. After online students have completed the education requirements, they are eligible to sit for both the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam. When they have passed both exams, prospective CPAs must begin one year of work experience in public accounting, upon completion of which they are eligible to apply for licensure, provided they are 18 years of age or older and can provide a valid social security number. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education each year in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

South Dakota Learn More

To become a certified public accountant in the state of South Dakota, an online accounting student must earn a bachelor's degree totaling at least 150 credits. A minimum of 24 credits must be completed in accounting with an additional 24 in other business topics. Students must pass the CPA exam within 100 days of finishing their coursework, and are also required to pass the AICPA professional ethics exam and complete one year of field-related work experience before being eligible for licensure. There are no age, residency, or citizenship requirements for CPA licensure in South Dakota, but once a CPA obtains a license, he or she must complete 120 continuing professional education hours every three years in order to maintain it.

Back to Top

Tennessee Learn More

Online students aspiring to work as CPAs in Tennessee must first earn a bachelor's degree consisting of at least 150 credits. Program curriculum must include a minimum of 30 credits of accounting classes and 24 credits of business classes. Online students must pass both the CPA exam and AICPA professional ethics exam within 200 days of finishing the degree. In order to qualify for licensure, they must also then gain 2,000 hours of work experience in the field, to be completed within no less than a one year period. When applying for credentials, every prospective CPA must provide a valid social security number and proof that he or she has completed all education and work requirements. Once licensed, CPAs must complete a total of 80 continuing professional education hours every two years in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Texas Learn More

Accounting students in Texas must complete a minimum of a bachelor's degree in order to obtain licensure as a CPA. The degree program must include at least 30 credits in accounting and 24 credits in business-related courses. Online students should be aware that, while many of the required courses can be completed online, at least 15 of the accounting credits must be completed on campus. Students must complete a total of 150 credits before they are eligible to sit for the CPA exam. After passing the exam, CPA candidates must also pass the Texas Rules of Professional Conduct exam and complete one year, or 2,000 hours, of work experience before applying for a license. Every applicant is required to provide a valid social security number. Once a license is approved, CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years.

Back to Top

Utah Learn More

Online students looking to become licensed CPAs in Utah can follow one of many academic paths, including a graduate degree, a bachelor's degree with some additional graduate classes, or a selection of accounting and business courses. All candidates must earn at least 150 academic credits to be eligible for licensure. After completing education requirements, online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam and the AICPA professional ethics exam. Then they must complete one year of work experience wherein they are utilizing accounting and auditing skills and are supervised by a licensed CPA. With education and work requirements complete and a valid social security number, prospective CPAs are eligible to obtain licensure. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Vermont Learn More

The state of Vermont requires online students to complete 150 credits including a bachelor's degree with an accounting concentration before they can be licensed as CPAs in the state. 42 of those credits must be in accounting, auditing, taxation, or other related subjects. When online students are within 60 days of finishing their degrees, they are eligible to sit for the CPA exam. Although passage of an ethics exam is not mandatory, Vermont does require that students take a professional ethics course that has been approved by the Vermont Board of Public Accountancy. One year of work experience is required for licensure, with at least 200 hours of auditing experience and 500 hours of attest. Finally, all candidates for licensure must provide a valid social security number. CPAs must complete 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Virginia Learn More

Online students studying to work as certified public accountants in Virginia must earn a bachelor's degree in order to be eligible for licensure. Of the 150 total required credits, at least 24 must be earned in accounting and 24 in business. Students are permitted to sit for the CPA exam once they have completed 120 credits and to finish the additional 30 credits after they begin their one year of required work experience. In order to fulfill the requirement, the work must utilize the graduates' accounting, tax, and financial skills. Finally, all prospective CPAs must complete a self-directed AICPA course in professional ethics. Once a student has completed the education, work, and testing requirements and provided a valid social security number, he or she can apply for CPA licensure. CPAs must complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years in order to maintain their credentials.

Back to Top

Washington Learn More

The Washington State Board of Accountancy requires accounting students to earn a minimum of a bachelor's degree before they can work as certified public accountants in the state. Online students must complete a total of 150 credits including 24 credits in accounting and 24 in subjects related to business administration. Program graduates must then pass the CPA exam and an AICPA ethics exam within 180 days of completing the education requirement. Subsequent to passing both exams, prospective CPAs can begin a year of required work experience, which must demand the application of accounting principles and practices. There is no minimum age for earning a CPA license, but all applicants must provide a valid social security number. Once licensed, CPAs will need to complete 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years in order to maintain an active status.

Back to Top

Washington D.C. Learn More

To become a CPA in Washington D.C., an online student must complete 150 college credits and earn a bachelor's degree in accounting. Courses must include 24 credits of cost accounting, financial accounting, auditing, and income tax, as well as one course in commercial law. Once the education requirements have been completed, students may sit for the CPA exam. No additional ethics exam is required, but prospective CPAs are required to work for 2,000 hours, or one year, in public practice, government, academic, or industry accounting before applying for licensure. When education, work, and testing requirements have been met, candidates may provide a valid social security number and apply for licensure. CPAs must complete an additional 80 hours of continuing professional education every two years.

Back to Top

West Virginia Learn More

Online students must complete at least 150 college credits to become licensed as CPAs in West Virginia. Curriculum should include 27 credits in accounting, 27 in business, six in business law, and one ethics course. Once they have completed 120 of the 150 required credits, online students are eligible to sit for the CPA exam. No ethics exam is required in the state. After passing the CPA exam, prospective CPAs are required to gain one year of experience in public or private accounting, government accounting, non-profit accounting, industry, or academia. When the education and work requirements are complete, candidates who are at least 18 years old, are residents of the state, and have a valid social security number, may apply for licensure. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 40 hours of continuing professional education every year in order to renew their credentials; accountants in their first year of practice are exempt from the continuing education requirement.

Back to Top

Wisconsin Learn More

In Wisconsin, online students looking to work as CPAs must earn either a bachelor's or master's degree. The degree program must include 24 credits each in accounting and business courses, and students are required to pass the CPA exam within 60 days of finishing the education requirement. Completion of an online exam in ethics is also required. Following completion of education and testing requirements, graduates must complete one year of paid public accounting work, verified by a CPA. When all requirements are met, applicants who are 18 years or older can apply for a CPA license. Wisconsin is the only state that does not require continuing professional education for license renewal. However, many CPAs choose to join the Wisconsin Institute of Certified Public Accountants, which does require 90 hours of continuing professional education every three years.

Back to Top

Wyoming Learn More

The Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants requires that all prospective CPAs complete a minimum of 150 credits of college education, including a bachelor's degree. 24 credits must be earned in upper-division accounting courses and 24 in upper-level business-related courses. All education requirements must be completed within 90 days of sitting for the CPA exam. Online students must also pass AICPA professional ethics exam and complete one year of work experience in public accounting, government accounting, industry, or academia. The work must be verified by a licensed CPA in order for it to count towards the experience requirement. Candidates can apply for licensure one they have completed all education and work requirements, are at least 18 years old, are residents of the state, and hold a valid social security number. Once licensed, CPAs must complete 60 hours of continuing professional education over two years upon the second renewal, and 120 hours of continuing professional education every three years thereafter.

Back to Top

References

Ask an Expert

Do you have a question about online degrees or schools? Send it to one of our experts and we'll answer it here!
0% of users found this page helpful Was this page helpful?

Our tuition numbers reflect data collected from the National Center for Education Statistics.

Recommendation rate refers to the percent of students who said they would recommend this school based on reviews submitted to our partner site, GradReports.com.
This indicates that a school has an annual tuition of $15,000 or less as reported to the National Center for Education Statistics or based on the school's website.